India Favourites to Win T20 World Cup


India go into this year’s T20 World Cup as the bookmakers’ favourites at 5/2 to win the competition for only the second time in their history. The 2007 winners have a very talented squad with arguably more depth than any other nation in the competition. Rohit Sharma, for instance, is playing as well as any batsman in world cricket right now. The versatile hitter showed his talent during India’s tour of England earlier this summer, particularly in Test cricket. He then adapted very quickly to T20 action for the Mumbai Indians in the IPL.

India have also opted for experience in their bowling attack. Their 15-man squad features Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Mohammed Shami. The squad has a lot of experience, not just in this format of the game, but also in competing in major tournaments. The conditions in the UAE and Oman will be something this India team will be very familiar with, and the IPL has been played in the UAE in 2021, so this India squad will know the pitches very well.

India Favourites to Win T20 World Cup

This is something that the bookmakers will have factored into their outright betting as shown on online cricket betting sites. A combination of an ever-expanding fanbase with increased access to the internet, and India’s position as one of the favourites to win the T20 world cup means that this is a very exciting time for the sport as a whole.

England Top the Rankings Heading into T20 World Cup

The number one ranked team in international T20 cricket is England. They are looking to add to their success at the 2019 World Cup by completing the major double in limited overs cricket. What has made England so hard to beat in T20 cricket over the last couple of years is their firepower at the top of their batting order. It is so strong that Alex Hales has not even made the squad for the tournament this year.

Jonathan Bairstow, Dawid Malan, Jason Roy, Liam Livingstone, Jos Buttler all excel in this format of the game and are going to be spectacular to watch. There are then players in the middle order whose job it is to see out the innings. Eoin Morgan, Moeen Ali, and Tom Curran are all capable of playing that role. England are just behind India in the outright betting for the tournament. They will be expected to reach the latter stages at the very least. If they can lift the trophy, where they are 3/1 to do so, they will strengthen their position as the highest-ranked T20 international team in cricket.

Australia Bidding for First Ever T20 World Cup

Given how dominant they have been in all formats of cricket over the last couple of decades, it is a big surprise that Australia go into this T20 World Cup looking for their maiden title. Australia did reach the final in 2010 where they were beaten by England. Five years ago in India, they failed to make it out of their opening group in what was a disappointing campaign.

The Baggy Greens are 6/1 to come out on top in the tournament this year. They have been boosted by the return of their captain Aaron Finch. He returns following a knee injury. Their strong squad includes Steve Smith, David Warner, Marcus Stoinis, and Glenn Maxwell, so they are not lacking players who can win the game with the bat.

West Indies Most Successful Team in T20 History 

No team has won the T20 World Cup more times than the West Indies. They were successful in 2012 and 2016, and they are 13/2 to add 2021 to that list. The defending champions often go into the event as one of the underdogs but outperform their odds in the betting. West Indies have a number of players who can light up the tournament, most notably Chris Gayle. He is an opening batsman who can create fireworks when he is at the crease. Although, as one of many big hitters in the team, he is not the only player capable of that. 

The two-time winners have included Ravi Rampaul in their squad. He returns to the West Indies team for the first time since 2015. If he can have the same impact as he did in the 2012 tournament, he will give them a great chance of landing a third title. The T20 World Cup will conclude on the 14th November when the final takes place at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here