Dancing with the Stars: Season 31 Release Date, Contestants List

It’s almost time for a new season of Dancing with the Stars to fill our fall TV nights. Season 31 of the reality competition series has a new co-host in the ballroom, among other changes. But perhaps the most significant change is how we watch it. This fall, the long-running DWTS will move from its previous home on ABC to exclusively stream on Disney+, making it the streaming service’s first live show. 

Furthermore, for Season 31, DWTS will skip its usual ad breaks and stream commercial-free on the platform. This is a significant change for the series because dancers and crew typically use the breaks for outfit changes, staging, and other purposes. How will the elaborate backdrops for the dances be set up? When will they clean up the confetti and glitter from the stage? Tyra will have no time to change into her numerous wigs, headpieces, and mirror ball-inspired dresses. We have a lot of questions. 

Dancing with the Stars: Season 31 Release Date, Contestants List


Recent News 

Disney+ has renewed Dancing With the Stars for two seasons, and Season 31 will be available ad-free this fall. Disney recently announced that an ad-supported version of the streaming platform would be available beginning December 8, but DWTS usually crowns a winner before then to avoid interfering with Season 31. Disney has yet to decide whether Season 32 will remain ad-free or return to its commercial ways.  

Release Date 

Season 31 will premiere on Monday, September 19, 2022. 


This season of Dancing With the Stars will have a new co-host. In addition to Tyra Banks, Alfonso Ribeiro (who won Season 19 with pro-Witney Carson) will take the stage with the supermodel. 

The judges, who include the mean-mugging Len Goodman, the tough-but-fair Carrie Ann Inaba, the over-the-top Bruno Tonioli, and the talented Derek Hough, are also back. 

Cheryl Burke, Witney Carson, Artem Chigvintsev, Brandon Armstrong, Daniella Karagach, and Pasha Pashkov will be among the professionals appearing this season, with more to be announced. In addition, Lindsay Arnold and Sharna Burgess have confirmed that they will not be returning for the upcoming season.